Tales of not watching Flames games

On Tuesday, I am on a one-day trip into Ottawa for business, flying Porter Airlines — the new service that sends little planes off Toronto Island to destinations nearby. Normally this is fantastic, and with the downtown arrival I’m expecting to watch the second and third periods against Columbus. Then my flight is delayed. Then, once we’re in the air, it’s an hour of turbulence. Dramatically so — I’m talking a full hour of turbulence. And then we get to Toronto, and go through TWO aborted landing attempts, both cancelled due to fog. So we land at Pearson, get stuck on a bus, and by the time I get home, the game is over.

And, checking the score, I’m immediately struck by the fact that I undoubtedly would have chosen that flight over watching the 3-0 loss to the Jackets.

On Thursday, I am wrapping up my first full day of vacation in San Francisco. After Tuesday night, I’m not even considering finding some way to watch or listen to the Flames play Colorado. After a fantastic day in the sun, I retire to my hotel room and check the scores, to learn that the Flames had played a stiflingly great defensive game, giving up only 16 shots en route to a crucial 2-1 victory.

Tonight, I will again not be watching as the Flames play Minnesota in a game that will probably determine whether Calgary has any chance of catching the Wild for first place in the division.

I’m thinking it’s the right call.

~ by duncan on March 22, 2008.

2 Responses to “Tales of not watching Flames games”

  1. you THINK it’s the right call, but the flames have this nutty way of knowing when you start rolling on a superstition. watch the game, duncan. seriously… 😉

  2. Well done. You know what you have to do, now, until summer gets underway.

Leave a Reply

 
