Wings def. Flames: Well, clearly, this strategy isn’t working

Game 3
Red Wings 4 Flames 2
Record: 0-2-1-0

What strategy, you say? Might it be the, “play Craig Conroy on the first line” strategy? Well, everyone knows I like Craiggers more than the next guy, but I’m with walkinvisible: That ship has sailed.

But that’s not what I’m referring to. No, I’m talking about the “don’t watch the game” strategy, which I’ve employed for the past two contests. It hasn’t been so much a strategy as a symptom of a life lived unbridled by the rigorous NHL schedule. But I’ll call it a strategy for now, with the simple knowledge that strategy will change, and soon. Not tomorrow night when the Flames are in Dallas, mind you. But Saturday night, when I’m going to return to my dedicated, Flames-watching, opinion-building ways. And I’m going to do it in style, at Flames Central.

I’ve heard the pints are $8, but visits to Calgary are few and far between in my life right now, so if I’m going to watch, I’m going to do it in style. And while MetroGnome’s worry about a 0-5-1 start certainly sounds reasonable at this point, I’m going to remain positive and believe that my mere presence in the city (I’m here already) will be more than enough to somehow kick the team’s ass into figuring out how to win again. Maybe as early as tonight against Dallas, even BEFORE I get to sink a few coins into the Flames’ coffers, since they’ve had so little of my earnings in their time. I mean,  there’s gotta be someone on this team other than Daymond Langkow, Kristian Huselius and, uh, Cory Sarich who can score. (Three games, three goal-scorers? Ugh.) And if it takes me sitting under a giant Flaming C and sipping pints to snap the team out of its constant distraction at the hands of  the blue splotches and red streaks all over their uniforms, I’m willing to make the sacrifice.

Plus, when I start watching again, I can say things of actual consequence on this blog, since I’ll be able to analyze more than a game sheet, highlight films, and stories where the notoriously-tough-on-goalies head coach slams the franchise goaltender.

Ah yes. Great start indeed.

Perhaps my strategy continues to work in its own special way: Keeping me sane.

~ by duncan on October 12, 2007.

5 Responses to “Wings def. Flames: Well, clearly, this strategy isn’t working”

  1. i disagree; it’s been an OK start. sure, things arent “clicking” yet but when they do, this team is going to be off the charts. i really feel like the flames just have to learn to play as a team and not a collective of individuals. then the goals will come.

    id take our problems over the COILERS problems any day of the week

  2. It hasn’t been so much a strategy as a symptom of a life lived unbridled by the rigorous NHL schedule

    Oh, just rub it in, why don’t you? 😛

  3. Welcome to flames blog, fever. I see you’ve discovered Five Hole Fanatics, as well. What took you so long?

  4. what, you get drunk, nearly get arrested, meet a dude with a balloon hat and lose your ability to write much of anything ??? c’moooon… 😉

  5. Ok, now I really want to know why all the Calgary people don’t get pinged before these happen 😛

Leave a Reply

 
