Good things about Mike Keenan, Chapter 1

Since Mike Keenan’s actually coaching the team now, I’m going to force myself to think positive about Darryl’s manoeuvre and make an effort to bring up good things about our mustachioed new bench boss.

If you haven’t seen the third jersey design that Irony (good nickname?) nixed when he was coaching the Blues in the mid-90s, click here to see it. Now that’s a show of good judgment.

OK, onto other stuff.

On Wayne Primeau: $1.4 million per over three years seems decent enough for a guy with Primeau’s size and versatility. He also decided to forgo a no-trade, and we all know by now that he’s a movable asset. One year for David Hale? Whatever, I’m sure he’ll be fine as a No. 7 or No. 8, and also movable or farmable if one of the rooks emerges as an everyday NHLer.

I’m not knowledgeable enough to have anything really relevant to say about Calgary’s draft, but on the surface it seems like Mikael Backlund was a good, high-reward type pick, and the move to drop a few spots and gain a third-round slot was clever, too.

I’m looking forward to what TSN is calling “Free Agent Frenzy” day on Sunday, but I’m also pretty sure that by the end of the day I’ll be pissed off, because good players have signed with annoying teams and Darryl has dug up some reason to hand $2.5M per to Brent Sopel. Ryan Smyth isn’t happening. Scott Hannan is my preferred name on the entire list when it comes to realistic possibilities for Flames acquisitions. And I want Ville Nieminen back.

~ by duncan on June 29, 2007.

5 Responses to “Good things about Mike Keenan, Chapter 1”

  1. And I want Ville Nieminen back.

    I thought I was the only one.

  2. Not at all!

    Part of me really wants TSN’s “Free Agent Frenzy” to be a roomful of guys surrounded by phones, not ringing off the hook. Actually, not ringing at all…

  3. I’ve committed more than an hour to the frenzy now, and all I’ve learned is that Joe Thornton has re-signed with San Jose and Pascal Dupuis is staying with Atlanta. This special may have been a mis-step by TSN.

  4. […] which I suppose is still not entirely out of the question. (And one might argue that my “Darryl has dug up some reason to hand $2.5M per to Brent Sopel” joke prediction has sort of come […]

  5. Jay Onrait made a good point in his blog on TSN that they probably should have started the special later, as most of the moves tend to happen in the late afternoon…

Leave a Reply

 
