Liveblog: “I can’t believe it’s come down to this”

That quote from the Islanders’ colour man on MSG, who may be Brian Engblom, I’m not sure. Whoever it is, he’s right. This, friends, is the first shootout to directly determine a playoff position. Islanders win, they’re in. Islanders lose, the Leafs are in.

6:10: My wife just declared: “I can’t believe they have to go through this. I mean, Clemmensen and Dubielewicz? Who the fuck are they?”

6:12: My wife again: “What if Smyth singlehandedly pushes the Islanders into the playoffs?” Satan scores on the Islanders’ first shot. 1-0 NYI.

Still 6:12: Parise makes it 1-1 on an unreal backhand.

6:13: Kozlov goes five-hole on Clemmensen, 2-1 Islanders.

Still 6:13: Dubie stops Gionta! Smyth can win it!

6:14: No! Smyth stopped!

6:14: AHL goalie Wade Dubielewicz gets the pokecheck out on Brylin! Leafs fans disappointed again!

6:16: And the six-minute liveblog is over. I thought Ted Nolan was going to do a cartwheel behind the bench. I’m just relieved that Nashville won last night so we Flames fans didn’t face a similar situation tonight.  I’m no Leafs supporter, but I feel for those fans right now. That’s an awfully tough way to miss the playoffs.

~ by duncan on April 8, 2007.

4 Responses to “Liveblog: “I can’t believe it’s come down to this””

  1. > I’m no Leafs supporter, but I feel for those fans right now. That’s an awfully tough way to miss the playoffs.

    Maybe so, but first of all they had no business winning last night. The refs decided it. Secondly, if your team is relying on a conference rival to beat another conference rival just to get a sniff at the league’s #1 team, you haven’t earned anything.

    Go Flames! Go Canucks! Go Sens!

  2. your wife has got some hockey smarts… she should start a blog…
    😉

  3. Did you notice the wierd comment the announcer made about Ryan Smyth going through this last year and having to ‘wait the next day for Vancouver and SJ to decide their fate,’ I was like, that never happened…

  4. Well, this Liveblog is certainly more eloquent than mine and HG’s attempt at one, HAHA.

Leave a Reply

 
